Biodiversity in action in the Peak District

Skip to section navigation


The Peak District comprises some large areas of semi-natural habitats such as upland heathland and blanket bog, together with some fragmented priority habitats such as lowland meadows and calaminarian grasslands. These can be grouped into types – moorland, woodland, grassland, wetland, other.

It is difficult to give accurate figures for the exact amount of each habitat that can be found in the Peak District. The best we can do is provide informed estimates based on a variety of surveys carried out by ourselves and partners since the 1990s. We are constantly striving to improve and update our data.

Find out more about each habitat


The Peak District is home to an amazing array of species; common, rare, and even a species that is found nowhere else on Earth! The Peak District really is a special place to come and see some of England's finest wildlife.

In the National Park and beyond, we are fortunate to have large areas of semi-natural habitat that support a huge variety of species. By improving the condition of these habitats, and creating new areas of habitat, we provide the right conditions for our plants and animals to thrive.

Peak District Biodiversity Action Plan Species

The Peak District supports 161 species that have been identified as priorities for the UK Biodiversity Action Plan because they are at risk of being lost from our countryside. We have also identified a further 11 species for which the Peak District is a particularly important area.

Find out more about each species